

Minutes of the 78th Annual General Meeting of The Marlow Players held on 20 June, 2019 in The Studio, Marlow

Apologies for absence: Gloria Kendrick; Di Hudson; Karen Moyse; Wendy Gammond; Sylvia Collingwood; Caroline Law; Jennifer Major; Olive Smith.

Present: Brian Couling; Andrew Stafford; Andy Scott; Hilary Cox; Alison Edwards; Max Sasim; Jossy Pearce; Melanie Loveridge; Allison Rogers.

The Minutes of last year's Annual General Meeting were read and summarised; they were accepted as an accurate record. *Proposer:* Hilary Cox. *Seconder:* Brian Couling.

Matters Arising:

- 1. Andrew Stafford drew attention to the need for publicity for future visits of 'Les Baladins'. We discussed the logistics of using Liston Hall vs. The Shelley Theatre (Court Garden Leisure Centre).
- 2. Brian Couling has not put more heating in the Studio since 2018. Andrew Stafford expressed satisfaction with the heating arrangements as they were: gas heaters and existing electric heaters. However, there was clearly interest in the room for taking the matter of the heating of The Studio further.

Hon. President's/Hon. Chairman's Report:

Andrew Stafford presented his annual report as Hon. Chairman of The Marlow Players. His report was accepted.

Hon. Treasurer's Report:

Brian Couling gave his annual Report as Hon Treasurer of The Marlow Players. He advised we have made £1,600.00 profit over the year after all costs have been taken into account. The overall figure in the bank is: £14,179.93. Copies of the Balance Sheets are available. His Report was accepted. *Proposer:* Jossy Pearce. *Seconder:* Alison Edwards.

Matters Arising:

- The visit of The Marlow Players' drama group to Marly-le-Roi on the week-end of 5 –
 7 April, 2019 paid for itself. Our play was well-received.
- We agreed that the Annual Subscription for membership of The Marlow Players should remain unchanged at £20.00 per individual and £35.00 for a couple.

Election of Committee Members:

<u>Hon. Chairman:</u> Andrew Stafford. *Proposer:* Hilary Cox. *Seconder:* Brian Couling <u>Hon Treasurer:</u> Brian Couling. Proposer: Andrew Stafford. Seconder: Alison Edwards.

Hon. Secretary: Andrew Stafford

Membership Secretary: Hilary Cox. Proposer: Andrew Stafford. Seconder: Jossy Pearce.

<u>Committee Members:</u> The following members had agreed to stand for another year: Andy Scott; Di Hudson; Jennifer Major; Gloria Kendrick.

In addition, Alison Edwards was elected as a new member. Proposer: Andrew Stafford. Seconder: Brian Couling. Alison was warmly welcomed onto the Committee.

Nominations for The Anderson Award:

We received only one nomination: Alison Edwards, who was awarded for her conscientious work on mastering Sound.

Stage Crew Award:

Nominations were:

Toby Lassen for his hard work back-stage and Max Sasim for his excellent set-building. Following a vote during the Interval, the award went to Toby Lassen. Although absent, Toby was warmly congratulated.

During the Interval wine and nibbles were enjoyed.

Site Tasks:

Preservation of the Studio:

- 1. We still need another evening to paint the <u>outside of The Studio</u> in readiness for next winter.
- 2. The <u>inside of the Studio</u> also needs to be organised, especially the flats. We also need to consider the set for our next production. Could we adapt some of the flats?
- 3. The heating needs to be addressed, (and probably money needs to be spent).
- 4. Remove the high-level cobwebs!

Any Other Business:

<u>Possible future productions were discussed:</u> An Agatha Christie play? 'Local Affairs'? 'Crown Matrimonial'? 'Lady Windermere's Fan'?

The Meeting closed at 10.35pm.